Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Roccamontepiano

Home Roccamontepiano San Rocco Ju Catenacc Album foto 2002 NATALE 2001

 

 THE LANDSLIDE

The landslide which destroyed Roccamontepiano took place on June 24th 1765. Starting from the Colonna castle it involved the whole village, sweeping people and houses away and killing 500 people out of 2000.There is no certainty about the phenomenon: whether it was originated all and only because of the heavy rains fallen down in the days preceeding it, or also by some earthquake shocks, or else by both of the phenomena at the same time. Anyway, the destructing process began with the detachment of a big rock from Montepiano, while around the castle a big spring of water gushed out from the ground. Later on, the castle entire began to slide downwards and broke only after the impact with the first houses of the urban centre. During the first months after the disaster, the first thing to do to feed the population was to restore the flour-mills, while the removal of rubber began only in 1840.



MONUMENTS

 

CHIESA DELLA MADONNA DELLE GRAZIE (Our Lady of Graces)

 

It is a church of medieval origin which was probably part of a monastery, as demonstrated by the buildings and houses annexed to it.In this one-nave church, restored after the 2nd World War, there is an ancient wood statue representing the Holy Mary and the Infant Jesus which was probably sculptured around the 13th century.This place is particularly dear to the people of Roccamontepiano not only because it was used as a graveyard until the Napoleonic period but also because it is here that on June 24th 1765, some of the survivors escaping the landslide through one of the doors of the town-walls, found refuge.

 


CHURCH OF ST. FRANCESCO CARACCIOLO

 

Situated in a wild and evocative place, at the feet of the plateau of Montepiano, a place called "the sacred rocks of Montepiano", is the interesting monastic whole of St. Francesco Caracciolo which witnesses a glorious religious past, made of heroic sacrifices and exemplary asceticism. The caverns of this wild area have been shelter for hermits and simple penitents. In 1870 the monastery underwent the confiscation of its properties; anyway there still remain a  few interesting oil paintings dating back to the 15th and 16th centuries.

 


MONASTERY OF ST. PETER

 

According to the legend, it was St. Peter Apostle who decided the place and the name of the monastery. After having appeared to St. Benedetto - who was in Roccamontepiano after a period  of wandering in this region - St. Peter told him to build the House of God on the ruins of the ancient Roman fortress, the "Vico Romano".This monastery - which is a ruin today - has an enormous importance within the history of Arts because it represents the only example in Abruzzo of "Monastery-Castle", built with the typical characteristics of pure Romanic art and using blocks of local travertine.All the other monumental churches built in Abruzzo during the Middle Ages instead, are not made of travertine but of the grey stone of Mount Maiella. The pure Romanic method consists on the repetition of the architectural features surviving in the ruins of previous Roman monuments.

 

bullet

JU CATENACC

bullet

ABRUZZO VISTO DA DONATELLA